Suffer a Little; and, Printing Update

Happy Saturday!
As it grows colder and I continue riding my bike to work, my fingers freezing to the handlebars, I think how vital it is for a writer to experience things to give credibility to their writing. I’m not saying you have to commit a crime and get arrested, or actually hike a mountain and get lost. Many writers do write from life experience (such as, being trapped on a mountainside in winter), but most of those writers are crazy.

 

Not really. But let’s be honest. Most of us imagine wild scenarios, research, read, watch movies, conduct interviews and fling our imaginations to the wind to think what it would be like to experience being trapped on a mountainside, or being a criminal. But a teaspoon of personal experience can make the writing more realistic.

If you’re writing a criminal, or an average Joe who slowly becomes a criminal, I’m not suggesting you shoplift. But the next time you’re in a store, work your imagination. Pick up something expensive and pretend (I stress pretend) that you are going to steal it. Are your armpits getting damp? Mine would. Do you shake a little? What is your reaction to the thought of committing a crime? That’s valid experience.  You might experience something completely different than you had imagined, and that’s the spice of writing.

Humans can survive incredibly harsh conditions, even for a small amount of time. So I consider letting yourself get a little cold (or hot!) is not going to kill you, and from that unpleasant experience, you can become a stronger sensory writer.

I write stories from an animal point of view. It is vital that I spend time outdoors in all weather conditions. I’m lucky to live in an area where I can swim in lakes, crawl through scrubby creek beds and grassy mountain slopes and otherwise get a dash of experience in the environment I hope to write, from the point of view of a creature who might live there. I can taste the changing season, and sense when the nights are cold enough for leaves to turn.

So let yourself get a little chilled the next time you take a walk, and then when your character is trapped out in the freezing night, you’ll have a taste of the experience from which to draw inspiration and credibility. Let that agonizing itch dig into your shoulder for a moment longer than is comfortable, so that you have a speck of an idea of torture (for you horror writers). Let the fly muck around on your wrist and tickle for an extra moment. Remember what it’s like to have the wind slashing your hair into your eyes when the car window is down. Drive with the air conditioner off for a few minutes. Don’t turn on the heat right away. Suffer a little. In a Zen way, you might also notice that minor annoyances don’t bother you as much.

Verily I say unto you, if you have experience as small as a pebble, from this you will write mountains.

 

Image

To the experienced sensory writer, this experience, after several cups of coffee and an hour at the desk, easily transforms into…

Image

This!

~_~_~__~_~_~_~_~__~_~__~~__~_~_~_~_~__~_~_~__~~__~_~__~

Printing update, for those waiting on their books: Because my book length was a few pages longer than anticipated (adding a cool map, acknowledgements, etc) they had to add an extra “signature” and confirm paper and spine width and adjusted pricing with me.

I’ll let every know when the books are on the press and when they’re on their way to me!
Sincere thanks for your patience. Kickstart backers and pre-orders have my TOP priority!

-Jess

About jesseowen

I’m a professional author, artist, and for years I was an Equity Stage Manager in the theatre. My current project is a quartet of young adult novels titled The Summer King Chronicles. I’m from the mountains of Montana; I’ve traveled the United States with theatre tours and left the country only twice: once to Italy, once to Scotland. I drink a lot of coffee, I love music and travel and Renaissance art. I read (some) poetry, watch a lot of movies, read, aspire to get up early. Among other things. I still think the original Star Wars is one of the best stories of our time. If you’d like to know more, drop me a line! ~Jess View all posts by jesseowen

5 responses to “Suffer a Little; and, Printing Update

  • Lauren

    That is a brilliant way to look at life experiences. While I’m not writing, I’ll be storyboarding soon (which I suppose is “writing with pictures”). For how simple it seems I probably wouldn’t have thought to use most of my every day experiences as inspiration for Great Stories. Thanks for the tip! Plus, I could use a little more Zen in my life anyway, it’ll be good practice. 😉

  • Piscis

    I will second that sentiment! It brings to mind a quote from an author (who I unfortunatley can’t recall off the top of my head) that went something like “Forget write what you know; write what you -are-“. In essense – dress up your tale with whatever fantastic trappings you’d like, but as long as there’s a personal truth abstracted from your own experiences at its core, it will keep the story grounded and bring life to the flourishes.

Leave a Reply

